Re-establishing the Flow

Frustrated_Writer_PicSo. The beginning of the year again. I’m still getting used to writing 2013 dates. They seem supremely weird for some reason. Perhaps I have been unsettled by the odd number. I guess the ‘3’ rather than the ‘1’ or ‘2’ really means this decade is going to scroll away like the others.

In any case, it’s time to get back into my Urban Fantasy manuscript. Having told all and sundry about it through the Next Big Thing, I guess I better deliver!

I had hoped to get a first draft completed by the end of last year, but factors conspired to keep me away from the desk. I even did NaNoWriMo for the first time, but posted a pretty pathetic effort somewhere upward of 20k. Usually I am pretty consistent, but last November turned into the worst writing month of the entire year.

So I’m back, trying to build up a head of steam. As usual, my experience of starting on a manuscript is like pulling teeth without anaesthetic. All the various story elements I had managed to keep in my mind at the same time, and the feel of the prose, have all vanished away. Disappeared with all the reindeer back to the North Pole.

Right now I’m looking to find my way back into the story. As usual I need to try the back doors, which date from an early era and are prone to be left latched, rather than deadlocked.

I spent a few days trawling through my journals and found the entries where I first toyed with the ideas for the world, the history and magic. Then I found other entries with notes from books on New York history. These had helped me – along with a visit in 2009 – to get the feel of the place. Then it was back to my story notes, and my character backgrounds.

I’m not quite there yet, but I am starting to feel the right creative energies building again. The path is starting to open up. [Not that I wouldn’t opt for the round-the-world trip if I won the lottery right now, but then again I’ve never needed much encouragement to look for the nearest escape hatch.]

How do you find your way back into your manuscript after a break?

Leave a Reply

