Photos and Social Media

Trying to track down photographs of the weekend at Genrecon and post them has made me realise how behind the curve I am on social media. Many writers were taking photos and posting them on twitter almost like a reflex action. Right on the spot in all of twenty seconds. In comparison, my efforts to grapple with the social media were more like some huge steam-powered mechanism trying to build up steam to move its grease-laden gears.

OK, I’ve managed to find two photographs. For the second one I had to dress up in my costume after I got back to Brisbane and get my wife Sandra to snap a one on her phone. It was only after I got back that I realised I should have been getting everyone to take photographs on my phone so I had some pics.

Below is a photo of myself with Alex Adsett and Paul Landymore, partners in crime (photo courtesy of Australian Writer’s Marketplace Online).

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the one I took when I got back to Brisbane. Six gun Chris!

Thinking about social media in general, I’ve decided it pretty much comes down to personality. Some people are just chattier than others and will find it easier to use those platforms.

One of the streams of Genrecon was on the publishing industry, including social media and author platforms. The advice is to try an engage people through dialogue, rather than making the conversations ‘one-way’. Good advice.

Another interesting thing that really stood out in my head was that there are optimal times to post to the Twitter and Facebook universes. Both Twitter and Facebook are at their most active during the working week. Based on USA Eastern Standard Time Facebook’s peak is mid to late week just after lunch. Yep – all those office workers logging on to see what’s up after lunch. Twitter’s usage was more spread out across the week, but – with the exception of early Saturday night when everyone is finding out where people are going – the peak was still in the middle of the day in the working week.

So in terms of maximising the effectiveness of posts, the advice was to ensure that you try to engage in these times. I did not even realise it, but you can schedule your posts on Facebook. For us poor social media cousins in the antipodes, we could do one post during our waking hours, then schedule another one for the USA peak times.

Other than that, the thrust was really just to try and create genuine relationships rather than talking at people. Find discussions and groups that discuss the things that interest you and make some real friends there. Get involved. Then when the times comes to talk about your new work people want to listen, and will be more inclined to promote you.

My biggest constraint is time, and the fact that I’m just not that chatty as a person. I’m the one at the party prone to having the deep and meaningful discussion in the corner. I guess I need to find the cyber equivalent of the comfy chair.

Anyone out there got any more tips for working with social media?

4 thoughts on “Photos and Social Media

  1. I’d suggest using a third party platform like Tweedeck which can incorporate Facebook status updates as well. You can also break your twitter feed down into filtered columns ie Spefic peeps in one column, publishing peeps in another.

    • Hey, Sean. Thanks for that, I’ll check it out. Being able to integrate the different platforms is a real plus for me. Although there was a one-off comment in one of the session at Genrecon to the effect that posting tweets on Facebook was bad form – not sure why. I suppose it comes down to the expectation of people who are looking for your posts on Facebook. I don’t really post that much, so anything I can post that is (hopefully) interesting is a plus.

      • Possibly because they are slightly different commenting spaces. Twiter’s fast and furious, where Facebook updates are probably closure to mini blog posts

  2. Pingback: Agent Incite » Twitter For The Not So Chatty

Leave a Reply

